[the ten rules to a party]

Now, I compiled this list a while ago when I realised
that most of the parties that I had previously [and
also to the date of me writing this] have had the same
set of occurrences.

Now [just to preface] this list isn’t exclusive to parties
but generally any gathering of people where alcohol is
involved. I would like to also say that it is quite rare
to see all ten things at once. But you will notice at least
two or three. Trust me. OK, so lets begin.

1] The Crying/Upset Girl She is the staple of the party
rules and actually the inspiration for the list. I recall
walking a girl home from one of my parties because she
was on the brink of becoming ‘The Crying Girl’. But as
it goes I find it hard to find it a party with the absence
of ‘The Crying Girl’

Alot of the time, she cries for little to no reason at all.
And like a few things on this list only happens for a
little bit of attention. Even if you think that you
avoided it at your party that just means that it most
likely happened in  a locked bathroom or bedroom.

But this rarely happens as the crying girl usually
feels the need to tell a few of her close friends. A
crying boy can happen but that is usually associated
with rule number ten.

2] The Stranger – This rule generally describes a
person who wasn’t really invited to the party. But
came along as a plus one or tagged along with a
friend and at some time during the night gets parted
from the person they came along with and for some
unknown reason decides to tag along with you. It
gets annoying.

3] The Pretender – This [in my experience] will most
of the time be a girl. She would have not had that much
to drink but just for the attention of the people around
her, she will appear alot more drunk than she actually is.
But she will only do this when there are people around.
Because what is the point of this ludicrous performance
if there is not an audience to witness it.

NB: In addition [and I have done this myself, if you look at
‘The Pretender’ when she believes that nobody is looking
she will be totally fine, and probably looking around to see
if there is anyone to act drunk around.

4] The Adulterer – For the purpose of the list I am
classing adultery as anything from a kiss and beyond,
[funny enough, my blog, my rules]. Alcohol will often
be used as an excuse to why the adultery occurred. Because
generally if you commit adultery at a party you will be
caught. But alcohol only lowers your inhibitions to things
that you may have done anyways. So therefore if you are
the one who committed the adultery then you can still
be blamed.

5] Storming Out – At some part during the night somebody
will get really drunk and decide upon themselves that it
would be agreat idea to walk home [when they can hardly
walk five metres in a straight line] regardless of how far they
live. And because you are nowhere near as drunk as they are
you try and stop them and that can actually take up alot of
your night. As terrible as it sounds, if somebody wants to walk
home, let them. They’ll only have themselves to blame.

6] Disappearing Act – Now this is different to the previous
rule. Mainly because with this rule the person will dissappear
without making a fuss. But will generally leave with a few
people and will not be totally wasted so you are rest assured
that even though they leave drunk they will be able to get
home safe.

7] The Drunk Text – Drunken texting is an illness, one that
I have suffered with for some time. The only way I can describe
why we do it, is that when we are drunk, we want people to
know that we are thinking about you [in a nice, non-creepy
way]. Although drunk texts are usually quite harmless I have
sent a few that have made me cringe when I remembered
sending them as I was recovering the next day. Ah well, as is
life.

8] Time To Have It Out – An argument will happen, between
a couple who are on the rocks or on the other hand a couple who
have recently broken up. Underlying or unresolved issues are
generally helped to break through to the surface by the consumption
of alcohol.It is best not get involved, because sometimes what’s
getting yelled out at the top of their lungs needs to come out.

9] House Party Rules – If you are having a house party there are
a few things that you should expect. Firstly, no matted how much
you prepare your home. Something will get broken or wrecked. One
or both of the two. And secondly somebody will be sick, a rule that is
so universal throughout partyland is that there will always be somebody
who does not know there limits when it comes to alcohol and pukes
up everywhere [this happens so often that it should have been rule
eleven to be honsest]. Also, it’s very annoying when it’s over YOUR stuff.

10] Boys Are Back In Town – When it comes to a party you will find
that the boy’s will get heated and try to be men by having a fight. This
rule isn’t just for the males, women have been known to break out into
random fights, it’s quite strange because it is completely counter-productive
to the party atmosphere.

Ah well, that’s it. Hope you enjoyed reading it. Comment if you
want, I have realised that I have been a bit slack with blog posts
recently so I’m trying to rectify this. In short, I will be blogging
more, from now on.

Wow, one thousand words. Whoop!

7 responses to “[the ten rules to a party]

  1. yourownpersonalmonster

    Hm. I don’t party, I have no input. But I can see myself being the one who storms out. 😀

    A photo job? That sounds perfect for you, but I guess if it’s not paying enough for you to stay, then you must keep searching.

    Yes, it is. I don’t like it.

    I’m glad to hear that(:

  2. yourownpersonalmonster

    Yeah, I’m too young to drink legally. I could if I wanted to. I just don’t do parties. Any kind of parties.

    Good, stay optimistic. You’ll find a job soon(:

    That’s true. I don’t know, it’s still not easy. But I shall try.

  3. yourownpersonalmonster

    I dunno. When I do go to parties, I usually sit in the corner alone and watch everyone. I don’t think I’m very social…

    And you will find a job, and you’ll be able to stay there(:

    Haha, I guess it’s just normal now. My real name’s nothing special, and monster has become like a nickname to me. 😀

  4. Curiosity killed me

    Mainly true, but never had the last one happen to me….and you know I like to party. Unfortunately I’ve been a few of them….

  5. i agree with all of these but there is one that you have left out which is very important to me…therefore i suggest an add on ( rule 11 if you like)
    the master: one seriously hardcore drinker that starts before everyone and stays up after they’ve all gone to bed. someone who gets the sober people drunk and the drunk people drun ker…this person will of course have at least twenty drinking games in their arsenal and know all of the international drinking rules…i think you can now see why i like this one.

  6. curiosity killed me

    You mean the sad git that just has nowhere to go, and drinks to proove he’s a real man 😛
    Just joking Will, you know I’ve joined you many a time…

Leave a Reply

