[because you give me options]

Ok, so it has been a while since my last post that
firstly celebrated the one year anniversary of this
blog and mentioned the birth of my new photo
blog [http://richardanthonymorris.wordpress.com].

Just so’s you know. This is a huge blog post compared
to my previous posts.

So for that reason It has been separated into two parts
the first part discusses my love for old books from the
countries and places I visit and what rules I have when
I am searching for an old book.

The second part discusses the options that have come
about as of late and what of these options I have available
to me [which is basically where the title of the post comes
from, it also comes partly from a Bloc Party lyric].

Because as first I wasn’t even going to mention the
book and so on. If you hadn’t guessed this little warning
was written after I had finished writing it all. I thought
it fair to warn.

So yeah, Part One:

Ireland was fun and I was able to get a book from
there too. For those who don’t know what it is I’m
on about. It is my way of a souvenir from any foreign
country [or principality] that I visit to get an old
book. But it can’t just be any old book. There are
rules, and these are;

Hardback
More than sixty years old

Annotated by somebody
Inscribed to somebody

Include a bookmark of some sorts
In the language of the country

A book must definitely fall into the first two rules
and has to abide by at least one of the second set
of rules but doesn’t necessarily have to abide by
the last two. Although the last rule is preferable.

It may seem like a ridiculously specific set of rules
to go with. But hey, they work and I managed to
get one from all but three of the foriegn countries I
have been to, there were reasons;

Barbados: I was about Fifteen and had a book with
me and the fact I had no spending money of my
own meant that I had no reason or ability to buy
a book. Also it was way before I started doing it

Spain: Again, this was way before I was actually
collecting old books from other countries. So I
just had fun instead.

Italy: This was actually after I had starting
collecting and acquiring old books. But I was
only there on a Saturday and a Sunday. And
most of my exploring occurred on the Sunday,
where most of the shops were closed.

But in Ireland I did manage to get an old book
for my collection as I mentioned before. The
book is:

The Complete Concordance to Shakespeare
By Mrs Cowden Clarke

And as I also mentioned it follows certain rules:

Hardback [The book is Hardback although not in the best condition]
More than sixty years old [An inscription on the inside reads the date ’11th March 1864]

Annotated by somebody [A student has made notes in pencil throughout]
Inscribed to somebody [Yes, that’s how I know how old it is ‘at least’]

Include a bookmark of some sorts [The student included portraits of the authoress as part of his/her work]
In the language of the country [It’s in English which is the current language of Ireland]

So yeah I like old books, and now we move on to part two of
this post and the actually reason why it has the title that it
does.’Because you give me options’ has nothing to do with old
books and travelling.

Right as has been mentioned in this blog beforehand I am
currently unemployed wistfully wasting my days with
little adventures like getting drunk and reading. Obviously
not at the same time.Although that isn’t impossible. And
it has now come to point where I have about three or four
options in front of me [see, that’s where the title comes from]
and I’m at the point where all are possible. A sort of multi-
faceted fork in the road. I could:

Move to Bangor in Wales with my good friend Tabitha. And
have a job there pretty much waiting for me. Which will allow me
to pay rent and live comfortably. Although Wales is a nine hour
coach ride or five hour drive away from most of my friends.
Although this doesn’t bother me. I don’t think I’ll be getting many
visits.

Work as a cruise ship photographer. I recently received an
email inviting me to an open group interview. Now working
on a cruise ship would mean that I would be off land for 6-8
months at a time. Again this would be taking my away from
the known as it were. But as with moving to Wales it would
be something different.

Getting a job as a Canon representative. Which would
basically mean that I would be going from shop to shop and
demonstrating different Canon equipment to customers. A
job I feel I would find extremely easy. I have been given the
phone number by the current representative who is resigning.
All I have to do is call and I would get an interview at least.
Now this is where this option break of into two different parts
of it’s own. With this job, would bring money. Wherein, I could
either stay living at home with my mum and my little brother
or I could use the money and move into a housee with my friends
Steve and Mark in Bromley, which would aslo be pretty cool.

Do nothing, and see what else life throws this way. To be
honest this isn’t even being considered as an option. It’s a stupid
idea.To be totally honest the most appealing one of these options
is the moving to Bangor in Wales option. Hence why I mentioned
it first.

You see, I don’t post for a week and then bam, And I’ve
over 1000 wordsworth to say [oh and I just made the word
wordsworth up, I kinda like it].

9 responses to “[because you give me options]

  1. yourownpersonalmonster

    i really like that whole book thing. it makes me want to go out and look for books that have been like, given to someone with a note inside and what not. πŸ˜€

    personally, i’d rather work on a cruise ship than be a canon worker. on the cruise ship you’d be able to do the two thing you love; take pictures and travel. it’s perfect for you. πŸ˜€

    and yes, it was beautiful advice. i actually really really like it(:

  2. yourownpersonalmonster

    yeah, i suppose they would be able to know who i am. but since none of them should care that much, and probably wouldn’t hunt down the blog they don’t know about, i think i’m safe. πŸ˜€

    haha,oh that’s nice.
    it makes plenty of sense.
    a whole other story? i see, i see.

    i don’t carry around an actual banana,
    just a tote bag with a large banana on it.
    and an attached banana wallet(:
    but i should carry around a banana, because i get very hungry sometimes. πŸ˜€

  3. yourownpersonalmonster

    yes it would be really random and i’d give them tons of kudos points on finding it. and then i’d have to kill them. πŸ˜€

    mhm, i bought it to talk to people and then figured, nope, i don’t want to. so me and my sister, and sometimes catie make stupid random videos about nothing. πŸ˜€

    ew, moldy bananas aren’t cool. i’m not sure i would eat it fast enough, and i’d probably end up smushing it before it molded anyway. so maybe it’s not a good idea…

  4. yourownpersonalmonster

    i was thinking i would make one too,
    just to blabber on when i’m too lazy to type. πŸ˜€

    hahahaha, an orange?!
    that’s a bit odd, but this talking about oranges makes me want my peach yogurt.
    so i guess none of it makes sense anymore(:

  5. yourownpersonalmonster

    damn, i forgot about the chopsticks thing.
    it would be slightly hard for me anyway, considering i only eat my yogurt frozen. πŸ˜€
    but i do want to try it!

    yay! i’m glad. πŸ˜€

    hahaha,
    gonna get your license?!

  6. yourownpersonalmonster

    haha, wow. is it easy? πŸ˜€

    tumblr’s wonderful(:
    but yeah having a lot of internet things is pretty difficult, but it’s manageable.

    well, i’m all out of ideas too.
    but you should totally write about your driving lesson. πŸ˜€

  7. yourownpersonalmonster

    well in that case, i will try it. πŸ˜€

    haha,yay for two followers!
    yes, it is kind of weird, but i couldn’t help myself. i just thought you know, you’ll probably post your lovely pictures there. and i enjoy seeing them(:

    eh, yeah, you’re right. it may not be all that exciting…

  8. yourownpersonalmonster

    i can’t help but dwell on it. i keep telling myself to stop thinking about it, to stop thinking about him, and then the other part of me goes, “but then you’ll lose him again. hold onto the thoughts, the memories, nothing else matters.”
    it’s horrible, yes. but it’s true. /:

    you’re advice is wonderful.
    i don’t know where you come up with it, but you always seem to have some sort of wonderful advice to give(:

  9. yourownpersonalmonster

    i guess it’s a phase we all go through at one time or another.

    i wouldn’t call your advice useless, because i’m sure someone, and myself, will follow it one day. i do try to follow your advice, but i’m just not good at it. /:

    haha, i would, but i’m not a huge fan of facebook.
    i’m very rarely on. so it wouldn’t have much use, if any.

Leave a Reply

