[wasted days you’ve come to pass]

Today in my shop I had a visitor, a
friend of mine. This does happen usually
but this is a person who I don’t see that
often.

So as we exchanged pleasantries and the
‘how have you beens’ the conversation
took a turn. To the best of my memory
it went like this

“So how are you?” She said

“I’m ok thanks, you?” I said

“I’m good, how’s work?” She replied

“Same old same old, you know”

Right there, that’s where for some reason
I automatically lied. Because the thing is
I’m being made redundant and sometime
in July I won’t have a job any more.

Feels odd to write it, oh well. These things
do happen. Especially in an economic
recession, they do seem to always happen
to me though. I’m keeping a good mood
about this. Yeah.

On a more positive note I’m still not
drinking alcohol. Which seems to have
led to a slight weight loss and my disinterest
in girls [in the romantic sense] is still going
on. Although it did make my friend think
I had become homosexual. Two friends in
one day. Go me.

One response to “[wasted days you’ve come to pass]

  1. It’s the automatic lie. You get caught up in the automatic conversation, the pleasantries, and so you say what the other person expects you to say, not what’s really the truth. I do it all the time. Because it’s easier to say “same old, same old” than to launch into an explanation. The explanation derails the conversation.

    Kudos on the not drinking.

Leave a Reply

