[…]

Now I have to personally admit that
I send text messages quite alot [text
messages if you didn’t know are also
called SMS’s] and I find it useful for
having a conversation when I’m
busy doing something else.

But there is a slight piece of textual
etiquette that I dislike. it’s the three
dot system. When your having a
conversation with someone this
little example below may happen:

You: “You alright, how’s you? x”

Them: “I’m ok, I guess… x”

Now, this is what bugs me because
it’s really not needed. If you have
a tale that you want to tell then
tell it. You have this opportunity
when the first person [i.e me] texts
you.

In the instance of the three dot
terror occurring to me, even by
those of whom I may already be
in a deep conversation with I
feel the strong urge to not indulge
them and not text back.

This occurs in text messages,
instant messages, email, it even
occurs in books and other print,
but thats the thing. The three dots
is made [in my opinion,
exclusively] for books and print.

It’s there to add suspense but in the
case of conversation, it just adds
unneeded time and needless responses
to something you could have mention
outright.

Although the three dot system can
be used for comedic effect. And in
my mind is not always associated
with things being drawn out. This can
be shown in the example I’ve shown
below [which is from a message today]

“Richard… camera … bluewater…
Do you know a girl steve?”

It’s a message I got from a friend I
haven’t seen in like over a year
I believe.

So, to summerise, the three dots
in a written message should only
be used for comedic effect or to
show a slight shock like that
previous message did.

4 responses to “[…]

  1. yourownpersonalmonster

    regents week is when everyone has to take their gay tests that our state requires.
    freshmen [likemyself] take our mid-terms.
    the sophmores take their regents,
    and the juniors take their finals.
    it’s all really lame and unneeded,
    but you know.
    whatever; we get off the days we don’t have tests.
    (:

    hahaha,
    i agree very much,
    though i am guilty of using the three dots.
    like you’re example of the,
    “i’m fine, i guess…”
    i do that a lot,
    as an invitation to ask what’s wrong,
    but it’s not really important if you don’t.
    i don’t know.
    but you’re right.
    they’re annoying aren’t they?

  2. I dunno photo…

    I’m just not sure if I agree…

    I love the use of […]

    and yeah… I’m fine… I guess…. aren’t we all? *sigh* I dunno…

    XD :~ LMFAO~: XD

    Love ya!

  3. yourownpersonalmonster

    haha, i actually just woke up from my nap.
    i totally crashed. d:

    oh yes.
    it is very odd.
    and now we’re barely talking.
    it’s kind of sad. d:

    all is well here.
    hope it’s the same for you.

  4. storyofagirlnamedalex

    isnt it odd how Hey There Delilah still makes me think of you? =)
    Xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

