[on a train, with decent conversation]

Nowadays I live a good ten minute bus
ride from where I work, i get up, roll out
of bed and boom I’m at work [well not
literally, but you get the idea]

But this was not always so, I used to
live a good two hours from work. This
includes train times and buses [and the
waiting] and usually I would go to sleep
on the train and be happy when I woke
up at my appropriate station.

Only once or [at a push] three times
waking up three stations too late. Now
this just popped into my head but I didn’t
fall asleep all the time and most of these
times I was bored, my music the only thing
keeping me company and watching the same
stations approach day in and day out.

[why not choose a different line you ask?
well I was on a schedule and I didn’t wanna
fuck it up]

So one time it was worse than usual, with the
ability to randomly make myself go to sleep
lost and my iPod battery dead [I had fell asleep
listening to it the night before, a habit I don’t
believe I will ever grow out off].

I was forced to just sit there, and as I was
staring out of the window, noticing a burnt
out car aside the track. And I actually wrote
a poem in my notepad, it went like this;

I’m on the train, still
The fun has worn off
And the sheen has become dull

I wrote this poem in my notepad [it’s
not that great a poem, but I was quite
bored at the time and had nothing for
inspiration, ok, excuses over, back to
the story]my ears pinged as they had
caught attention to a conversation
happening on the group of seats to my left.

Now all I remember is that it was two old
gentlemen and they were dressed in ragidy
[spelling] clothes. They discussed all manner
of subjects to the state of the UK to how
they had felt about their lives. But it was the
last thing that one of them said that actually
hit me in a strange way. So much so, that I
actually got out my notepad to jot it down.

Now at this point the train had got to Dartford
station and one of the old gentlemen got up

“See you later Les, take care”

“It’s a bit late for that”

“Yeah…”

And like I said at that moment I got my
pencil out and wrote it in my notepad.
Now to hear an old man say this was
actually quite depressing in all honesty.

It popped in my head cause I was flicking
through my notepad, funny the randoms it
contains.

Leave a Reply

