[the art of conveying knowledge and experience]

It has often been said that you should listen to,
or at least consider the helpful words of advice
that have been put forward to you by friend and
family, and sometimes, even strangers that
seem to somehow be aware of your situation.

So why is it that people [and this includes me] tend
to pull a blank face whenever advice is given to them,
they usually thank the person but don’t actually do
what the person is suggesting. I draw on personal
experience for this particular one. When my good
friends Rick and Jason were helping me get over
somebody in my life.

They both had valid advice, they both knew
exactly how I felt and what i was going through,
as they had both been through it themselves,
yet in my mind, for them to know how I was feeling
was impossible. For someone else to be able to
go through what i was feeling. This makes me
sound incredibly self centred, but it was how I
felt at the time.

My friend Jason even said ‘All things have a sell by
date,especially good advice’. Or something along those
lines, still though, it’s true, the thing about advice is
that it’s one of those things that you think to yourself
you wish you did, like studying for that test you did
badly in, or practising your instrument just before
the big recital.

Even the advice that I give to people I expect
to be ignored. Its just how things are in the real
world, you will go through an ordeal in your life
[which could mainly be avoided be listening to
others] and you’ll feel the need to pass this knowledge
onto others. In an attempt to ease the frustration
of the other person, as they blankly stare back at
you.

The other thing that I figured out that time when me
and my friend Rick where discussing life, and all the
things I could do with my time to get over the
aforementioned person in my life, whilst laying on
the garden floor staring at the stars.

Is that life is all about experience, people need to
ignore the advice of others. Without making their
own mistakes there is no way for you to pass on
your advice to somebody else.

In the end it seems, life is all about mistakes.

[word count: 437 words]
[this was first placed on the livejournal
on the 22nd February 2008]

Leave a Reply

